Search form

H. Bryan Neel, III MD, PhD, Distinguished Research Lecture

Funded by the Neel family and friends, the H. Bryan Neel, III MD, PhD Distinguished Research Lecture was established in 1993 to disseminate information regarding new developments in biomedical science to the otolaryngologic community and has been a special feature of the AAO-HNSF Annual Meeting & OTO Experience.

2016 Honored Lecturer: Martha J. Somerman, D.D.S., Ph.D.

Dr. Martha J. Somerman is the Director of the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, National Institutes of Health. She also is Chief of the Laboratory of Oral Connective Tissue Biology at the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases. The NIDCR mission is to improve dental, oral and craniofacial health through research, research training, and dissemination of health information. It is our vision that these activities will result in NIDCR being recognized as the catalyst of change in transforming how oral health care is delivered.

Prior to becoming NIDCR’s director, Dr. Somerman was dean of the University of Washington School of Dentistry, Seattle, a position she held from 2002-2011.  Before joining the University of Washington, she was on the faculty of the University of Michigan School of Dentistry, Ann Arbor, from 1991 to 2002, and University of Maryland, 1984-1990. An internationally known researcher and educator, Dr. Somerman’s research has focused on defining the key regulators controlling development, maintenance and regeneration of dental-oral-craniofacial tissues and has been a recipient of numerous honors and awards throughout her academic career.

Dr. Somerman holds a D.D.S. from New York University, a certificate in Periodontology from Eastman Dental Center, Rochester, New York and a Ph.D. in Pharmacology from the University of Rochester, School of Medicine and Dentistry.

Previous Lecturers
  • 2015: Lloyd B. Minor, MD
  • 2014: Carter Van Waes, MD 
  • 2013: Martin A. Birchall, MD
  • 2012: Allan I. Pack, MD, PhD
  • 2011: James Christopher Post, MD, PhD
  • 2010: Joseph P. Vacanti, MD
  • 2009: Martin J. Burton, DM, FRCS
  • 2008: Blake S. Wilson, BSEE and Richard T. Miyamoto, MD
  • 2007: Elias A. Zerhouni, M.D.
  • 2006: Robert McKinnon Califf, MD MACC
  • 2005: Alfred E. Mann, PhD