Search form

John Conley, MD Lecture on Medical Ethics

This award, named for an esteemed leader in our specialty, is based on Dr. John Conley's passion for head and neck surgery and belief in the professionalism of the practice of medicine. He was dedicated to the highest standard of moral and ethical behavior from physicians.

2016 Honored Lecturer: G. Richard Holt, MD, D-BE, MSE, MPH

Dr. Holt is an Emeritus Professor of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery and a faculty member of the Center for Medical Humanities and Ethics at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery at the University of Missouri, and a Faculty Scholar in the University of Missouri Center for Health Ethics.  He has master degrees in public health, engineering, and bioethics and health policy, and a doctorate in bioethics.  He is Past President of the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, Past President of the American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, and a past Senior Counselor of the American Board of Otolaryngology. He recently retired as a member of the Board of Associates for Gallaudet University in Washington, DC.  Dr. Holt is a past Editor-in-Chief of the AAO-HNS journal Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery; a past Editor-in-Chief of the Aerospace Medical Association’s journal Aviation, Space, and Environmental Medicine; and is the current Editor-in-Chief of the Southern Medical Association’s journal Southern Medical Journal. While still a clinically active faculty member at the San Antonio Military Medical Center, he teaches global health and international medicine at the UT School of Public Health in San Antonio, as well as teaching medical humanities, health policy, bioethics, professionalism, and military ethics across the country.  Dr. Holt has received the following AAO-HNS awards:  Distinguished Service Award; Jerome C. Goldstein, MD, Public Service Award; and a Presidential Citation.  He previously served as the Executive Vice President of the AAO-HNS, as well as chair of the Ethics Committee.

Previous Honored Lecturers:
  • 2015: G. Scott Morris, MD, M.Div.
  • 2014: Rosemary Gibson
  • 2013: Nancy L. Snyderman, MD
  • 2012: Itzhak Brook, MD
  • 2011: Marlee Matlin
  • 2010: Gerald S. Healy, MD
  • 2009: Arthur L. Caplan, PhD
  • 2008: Nancy M. Kane, DMA
  • 2007: William G. Enright, PhD
  • 2006: Thomas R. Russell, MD, FACS
  • 2005: Harvey V. Fineberg, MD, PhD
  • 2004: Her Majesty Queen Noor
  • 2003: Arthur S. Levine, MD
  • 2002: Rev. Professor Peter J. Gomes
  • 2001: Daniel P. Sulmasy, OFM, MD, PhD
  • 2000: Pastor James D. Miller, PhD
  • 1999: C. Everett Koop, MD, ScD
  • 1998: Rev. Dr. Robert Schuller
  • 1997: Leo J. O’Donovan, SJ
  • 1996: Lasalle D. Leffall, Jr., MD
  • 1995: Thomas E. Starzl, MD, PhD
  • 1994: Bruce N. Ames, PhD
  • 1993: Benjamin Carson, Sr., MD
  • 1992: John Fletcher
  • 1991: Leland R. Kaiser, PhD
  • 1990: Edmund D. Pelligrino, PhD
  • 1989: Louis Sullivan, MD
  • 1988: John McLaughlin, PhD
  • 1987: Mark Medoff
  • 1986: Morris B. Abram, JD