

March 26, 2015

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Majority Leader U.S. Senate S. 230 U.S. Capitol Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Harry Reid Minority Leader U.S. Senate S. 221 U.S. Capitol Washington, DC 20510

Dear Leader McConnell and Leader Reid:

On behalf of the approximately 12,000 members of the American Academy of Otolaryngology—Head and Neck Surgery (AAO-HNS), I am writing to express our strong support for H.R. 2, the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA).

Today, the U.S. House of Representatives delivered an overwhelmingly bipartisan vote (392-37) to pass H.R. 2. Now, we urge the Senate to act swiftly to pass this critical legislation <u>before</u> recessing for a two-week period.

H.R. 2 includes bipartisan and bicameral legislation that was crafted during the 113<sup>th</sup> Congress and reintroduced this year as H.R. 1470. **After 14 years and 17 short-term patches, this important legislation will—finally—permanently repeal the flawed Sustainable Growth Rate (SGR) formula used to determine payments to physicians under the Medicare program.** The Medicare physician payment policies included in H.R. 2 also provide a pathway for improved quality and efficiency in the Medicare program, and will ensure a more stable environment for physicians, their practices, and their patients.

As leaders of the U.S. Senate, we urge you to stress to all Senators the importance of taking immediate action to pass H.R. 2. Despite the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services' (CMS) ability to temporarily hold the processing of payments, delaying the Senate's consideration of H.R. 2 only continues a pattern of uncertainty for physicians and patients in the Medicare program.

**Seize this unprecedented opportunity and pass H.R. 2 now.** Only then can we focus our collective efforts on forging a new, patient-centric, quality-based healthcare system. If you or your staffs have any questions, please contact Megan Marcinko, Senior Manager for Congressional and Political Affairs, at 703-535-3796 or <a href="marcinko@entnet.org">mmarcinko@entnet.org</a>.

Sincerely,

James C. Denneny III, MD Executive Vice President/CEO

Cc: U.S. Senate

2014-2015 ACADEMY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

OFFICER:

Gayle E. Woodson, MD President

Springfield, IL
Sujana S. Chandrasekhar, MD

President-Elect New York, NY

Gavin Setzen, MD Secretary/Treasurer Albany, NY

Scott P. Stringer, MD Secretary/Treasurer-Elect Jackson, MS

**James C. Denneny, III, MD** Executive Vice President and CEO Alexandria, VA

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT Richard W. Waguespack, MD Birmingham, AL

> AT-LARGE DIRECTORS Carol R. Bradford, MD Ann Arbor, MI Paul T. Fass, MD Miami, FL

Karen T. Pitman, MD Gilbert, AZ Michael D. Seidman, MD

West Bloomfield, MI
Michael G. Stewart, MD MPH
New York, NY
Duane J. Taylor, MD

Bethesda, MD Kathleen L. Yaremchuk, MD, MSA Detroit, MI

Jay S. Youngerman, MD Plainview, NY

BOARD OF GOVERNORS Wendy B. Stern, MD Chair

North Dartmouth, MA

David R. Edelstein, MD

Chair-Elect
New York, NY

Peter Abramson, MD
Past Chair

SPECIALTY SOCIETY ADVISORY COUNCIL Richard M. Rosenfeld, MD, MPH

Brooklyn, NY Kathleen L. Yaremchuk, MD, MSA Chair-Elect Detroit, MI

COORDINATORS

Jane T. Dillon, MD, MBA Socioeconomic Affairs Rolling Meadows, IL Robert R. Lorenz, MD, MBA

Robert R. Lorenz, MD, MBA Practice Affairs Cleveland, OH

EX-OFFICIO

Susan D. McCammon, MD
Chair, Ethics Committee
Galveston, TX