BOG Practitioner Excellence Award

2014 Award Application is Now Open!

The Board of Governors Practitioner Excellence Award recognizes the prototypical clinical otolaryngologist one wishes to emulate. Board of Governors Representatives will nominate individuals who, within the past 10 years, have practiced medicine in an exemplary manner and are sought out by other physicians because of their personal and effective care. The nominee should have, in addition to his or her clinical skills, one or more of the following attributes:

  • Civic leadership
  • Charitable activity
  • Leadership involvement with state, local or national medical organizations
  • Community education
  • Local civic and/or community activities
  • Academy member in good standing


2013: Michael Setzen, MD
2012: No award given
2011: Marcy Bothwell, MD
2010: Sanjay K. Gupta, MD
2009: James L. Netterville, MD
2008: No award given
2007: No award given
2006: No award given
2005: Rick G. Love, MD
2004: Michael D. Seidman, MD
2003: Helen F. Krause, MD
2002: David W. Kennedy, MD
2001: M. Coye Shea, Jr., MD
2000: Neil O. Ward, MD
1999: Howard P. House, MD
1998: Jack L. Pulec, MD
1997: Fred D. Owens, MD
1996: John M. Conoyer, MD

2014 Award Application Is Now Open right_arrow_blue

Return to main Awards page right_arrow_blue


Become a Member of AAO-HNS

Become a member of AAO-HNS

Receive many benefits to help you in your professional pursuits:  shape the future of the specialty, manage the business side of your practice more smoothly, and more.

Learn More right_arrow_blue_on_white

Humanitarian Opportunities

Humanitarian Opportunities

Do you enjoy travel or have a yearning to help others? If so, why not volunteer for humanitarian efforts?

Learn More right_arrow_blue_on_white

Awards & Honors

The Academy recognizes the extensive meritorious service of medical professionals' teaching, research, and leadership within the specialty.