Search form

2015 CORE Grant Recipients

2015 CORE Grant Recipients

American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Foundation (AAO-HNSF)

AAO-HNSF Resident Research Grant sponsored by the Alcon Foundation

Patricia L. Purcell, MD

Project Title: Functional assessment instrument for children with unilateral hearing loss

AAO-HNSF Resident Research Grant sponsored by Cook Medical

Kyle VanKoevering, MD

Project Title: Customized 3D-Printed CPAP maskes for children with craniofacial anomalies

AAO-HNSF Resident Research Grant sponsored by The Oticon Foundation

Jameson Mattingly, MD

Project Title: Examination of factors that limit performance of bone conduction implants

AAO-HNSF Resident Research Grants

Misha Amoils, MD

Project Title: PD-1/PD-L1 expression patterns in aggressive cutaneous squamous cell carcinoma

Phi C. Doan, MD

Project Title: Production of a cost-effective 3D temporal bone model 

Kara S. Davis, MD

Project Title: Cotargeting of PI3K and HER3 in head and neck squamous cell carcinoma

Theresa Guo, MD

Project Title: Discovery of novel alternative splicing in HPV-related oropharynngeal cancer

Aisha Harun, MD

Project Title: Assessment of vestibular function in individuals with dementia

Taha Jan, MD

Project Title: Effects of secreted factors from human vestibular schwannomas on hearing

Dane J. Genther, MD

Project Title: Upper eyelid loading thresholds and blink efficiency in facial paralysis

Ashok R. Jethwa, MD

Project Title: Video self assessment may improve competency in resident mastoidectomy

Eamon McLaughlin, MD

Project Title: Modulation of airway taste receptors for the treatment of sinusitis 

Sidharth V. Puram, MD, PhD

Project Title: Identification of intratumoral subpopulations in oral cavity SCC

Benjamin Rubinstein, MD

Project Title: The association between seconhand smoke exposure and pediatric sleep apnea

Phayvanh Sjogren, MD

Project Title: Reactive oxygen species and cytomegalovirus labyrinthitis

Justin Sowder, MD

Project Title: Determining and improving the flow dynamics of rigid bronchoscopes

Matthew Tyler, MD

Project Title: Molecular pathways underlying disease burden in CRSwNP and AFRS

AAO-HNSF Percy Memorial Research Award

Judith E. C. Lieu, MD

Project Title: Development of preschool hearing-related quality-of-life measures

AAO-HNSF Health Services Research Grant

Marion B. Gillespie, MS

Project Title: The effect of patient phenotype on sleep surgery outcomes

AAO-HNSF Bobby R. Alford Endowed Research Grant

Nithin D. Adappa, MD

Project Title: Bitter taste of receptor genetics and sinonasal microbiome

AAO-HNSF Research Grant

Rick F. Nelson, MD, PhD

Project Title: Modeling hair cell degeneration in 3D inner ear organoids

American Head and Neck Society (AHNS)

AHNS Pilot Grant

Narasimhan Rajaram, PhD

Project Title: Optical biomarkers of radiation resistance in head and neck cancers

AHNS Alando J. Ballantyne Resident Research Grant

Michael Kao, MD

Project Title: G2/M cell cycle check point inhibitors as targeted therapy for HNSCC

AHNS/AAO-HNSF Young Investigator Combined Award

Clint T. Allen, MD

Project Title: Combination targeted and immunotherapy in head and neck cancer

AHNS Translational Innovator Combined Award

Jose P. Zevallos, MD, MPH

Project Title: Targeted sequencing of HPV-positive oropharyngeal cancer treatment failures

American Rhinologic Society (ARS)

ARS Resident Research Grant

Arjun Parasher, MD

Project Title: The role of doxycycline in severe chronic rhinosinusitis with nasal polyps

Carol H. Yan, MD

Project Title: Elucidating gram-positive factors stimulating T2R sinonasal innate defense

American Society of Pediatric Otolaryngology (ASPO)

ASPO Research Career Development Award

Dylan K. Chan, MD, PhD

Project Title: AAV-mediated genetic rescue of Cx26-associated hearing loss

ASPO Research Grant

Victoria Lee, MD

Project Title: Objective imaging measures to guide Robin Sequence airway management    

David Smith, PhD, MD

Project Title: Inflammation and cardiovascular disease in pediatric OSA

ASPO Dustin Micah Harper Recurrent Respiratory Papillomatosis Research Grant

Ryan Branski, PhD

Project Title: Oral papilloma virus colonization and clearance in patients with RRP

The Educational and Research Foundation for the American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (AAFPRS)

AAFPRS Leslie Bernstein Grant

Jacqueline Greene, MD

Project Title: Facial nerve nanoengineering and regeneration

AAFPRS Leslie Bernstein Resident Research Grant

Joseph B. Vella, MD, PhD

Project Title: Craniofacial reconstruction via 3D printing and mesenchymal

Robert Brody, MD

Project Title: Optimizing cartilage autografts in septorhinoplasty

AAFPRS Research Scholar Award 

Lamont K. Jones, MD

Project Title: Assessing the role of AHNAK methylation in keloid pathogenesis