Search form

2016 CORE Grant Recipients

2016 CORE Grant Recipients

American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Foundation (AAO-HNSF)

AAO-HNSF Resident Research Grant Sponsored by Cook Medical 

William Thomas, MD

Project Title: Growing stable cartilage autografts with 3D tissue engineering and FGF-18

AAO-HNSF Resident Research Grants

Edward C. Kuan, MD

Project Title: Laser generated shockwave treatment of biofilms 

Kevin M. Motz, MD

Project Title: Defining the role of Th2 CH4 T-Helper lymphocytes in laryngotracheal stenosis

Yin Ren, MD, PhD

Project Title: Tumor-penetrating delivery of nanoparticles to human vestibular schwannomas 

Margaret L. Naunheim, MD

Project Title: Hearing consequences of voice impairment 

Renee M. Banakis-Hartl, MD

Project Title: Brainstem plasticity: Effects on cohlear implants for unilateral deafness

Ashley Kita, MD

Project Title: Point of care cerebospinal fluid detection 

Patrick Tassone, MD

Project Title: A mouse model of tumor metabolism in head and neck squamous cell carcinoma

Phillip Lee, MD

Project Title: Assessing the effectiveness of private surgical performance feedback

Tiffany Peng, MD

Project Title: Music perception and music enjoyment in cochlear implantation 

AAO-HNSF Maureen Hannley Research Grant

Harrison W. Lin, MD

Project Title: Objective and subjective measures of auditory neurodegeneration in humans

AAO-HNSF Percy Memorial Research Grant

Tanya K. Meyer, MD

Project Title: Work productivity in voice disorders; spasmodic dysphonia 

AAO-HNSF Health Services Research Grant

Victoria A. Jordan, MD

Project Title: Mental health and dysphonia: Associations in a large healthcare system 

AAO-HNSF Rande H. Lazar Health Services Research Grant

Sebastian M. Jara, MD

Project Title: The association between obstructive sleep apnea and cancer in VA patients

AAO-HNSF Bobby R. Alford Endowed Research Grant

Alexander Gelbard, MD

Project Title: Elevated IL-17A Drives mucosal fibrosis in idiopathic subglottic stenosis 

American Head and Neck Society (AHNS)

AHNS Pilot Grant

Sufi Thomas, PhD

Project Title: Role of tumor-associated fibroblasts in head and neck cancer metabolism 

AHNS Alando J. Ballantyne Resident Research Grant

Paul A. Zolkind, MD

Project Title: Preclinical model for a genomics- driven personalized vaccine in oral cavity 

AHNS/AAO-HNSF Young Investigator Combined Award

Jessica M. Moskovitz, MD

Project Title: Enhancing cetuximab efficacy by checkpoint inhibition in HNSCC

AHNS Translational Innovator Combined Award

Matthew E. Spector, MD

Project Title: Predictive biomarkers and targeted therapy in recurrent laryngeal cancer

American Neurotology Society (ANS)

ANS/AAO-HNSF Herbert Silverstein Otology and Neurotology Research Award

David H. Jung, MD, PhD

Project Title: Novel neurotrophin- bisphosphonate conjugates to promote cochlear synaptogensis

American Rhinologic Society (ARS)

ARS Resident Research Grant

Richard Alexander Harbison, MD

Project Title: Skills transfer to sinus surgery via a low-cost simulation-based curriculum

American Society of Pediatric Otolaryngology (ASPO)

ASPO Reseach Career Development Award

Emily F. Boss, MD, MPH

Project Title: Nothing about me without me: Shared decision-making for tonsillectomy in children 

ASPO Reseach Grant

Rosa B. Lipin, MD

Project Title: Palate bone formation and the role of the hypoxia pathway

John D. Prosser, MD

Project Title: Characterizing xenograft models of recurrent resiratory papillomatosis 

The Educational and Research Foundation of the American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (AAFPRS)

AAFPRS Leslie Bernstein Grant

Matthew Q. Miller, MD

Project Title: Bone regeneration in craniofacial skeleton using growth factors and stem cells 

AAFPRS Leslie Bernstein Resident Research Grant

Joshua K. Au, MD

Project Title: Artificial hair implantation on a rat model 

Weitao Wang, MD

Project Title: Optimizing bone allograft in craniofacial defect reconstruction 

AAFPRS Leslie Bernstein Investigator Development Grant

John J. Chi, MD

Project Title: Shared decision making in complex nasal reconstruction 

No meritorious applications received for the following grants:

ARS New Investigator Award

AMD Resident Research Grant

AAFPRS Research Scholar Award