Search form

Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award

In 2009, the Arnold P. Gold Foundation selected the American Academy of Otolaryngology—Head and Neck Surgery Foundation (AAO-HNSF) as one of three medical specialty societies to confer the Gold Foundation’s new Humanism in Medicine Award, with the goal of advocating for the compassion, empathy, and sensitivity displayed by practicing physicians caring for their patients. These goals align with our AAO-HNS/F vision of “Empowering otolaryngologist-head and neck surgeons to deliver the best patient care.”

2017 Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award RECIPIENT:  Mark E. Zafereo, Jr., MD

Mark E. Zafereo Jr., MD. Dr. Zafereo is an associate professor of Head and Neck Surgery at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center and an adjunct faculty member at the Baylor College of Medicine. He is also the section chief of Head and Neck Endocrine Surgery and associate medical director of the Endocrine Center at MD Anderson Cancer Center.

Dr. Zafereo’s clinical interests include thyroid cancer, parathyroid, and other head and neck tumors. He has published more than 60 peer-reviewed journal articles, invited articles, and textbook chapters related to cancer and diseases of the head and neck. He speaks nationally and internationally on thyroid cancer and other head and neck cancers.

He is passionate about advancing the education of residents and young faculty in the field of otolaryngology-head and neck surgery in developing countries. Over the last decade, he has supported the University of Capetown Karl Storz Head and Neck Surgery fellows in educational endeavors as they return to academic centers in their home countries throughout Africa. He has also developed an international resident exchange program through AAO-HNS and has supported many residents, fellows, and young faculty in their participation in the Academy.

Dr. Zafereo received his medical degree from the University of Texas Medical School at Houston and completed his otolaryngology-head and neck surgery residency at Baylor College of Medicine, followed by a fellowship in head and neck surgical oncology at MD Anderson.

Previous Recipients:

  • 2016: Susan D. McCammon, MD
  • 2015: Susan R. Cordes, MD, FACS
  • 2014: Raul M. Cruz, MD
  • 2013: Phyllis B. Bouvier, MD
  • 2012: Charles Moore, MD
  • 2011: Howard S. Kotler, MD, FACS
  • 2010: Ellen M. Friedman, MD
  • 2009: Steven F. Isenberg, MD