Eugene N. Myers, MD International Lecture on Head and Neck Cancer

This award was endowed by Leslie Nicholas, MD, in honor of his nephew, Eugene N. Myers, MD, who is dedicated to the management of head/neck cancer and has interest in international medicine.

2017 Honored Lecturer: Javier Gavilan, MD

Javier Gavilan, MD is currently the Professor and Chairman of the Department of Otolaryngology at La Paz University Hospital in Madrid, Spain.  He has published 8 books, more than 250 papers in scientific journals and 91 book chapters. Dr. Gavilan has served as a Visiting Professor at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, University of Toronto, and the University of Pittsburgh and has presented over 350 papers at scientific meetings.  He has received 56 different awards and grants and is a member of more than 25 different scientific societites.    

Previous Honored Lecturers: 
  • 2016: Jonathan Irish, MD, MSc, FRCSC, FACS
  • 2015: Professor-emeritus Frans JM Hilgers, MD 
  • 2014: Professor Sheng Po Hao, MD, FACS, FICS
  • 2013: Professor Piero Nicolai 
  • 2012: Professor Johannes J. Fagan, MBChB, FCS(SA)
  • 2011: Professor Dr. med. Karl Hőrmann 
  • 2010: Professor Randall P. Morton, MBBS, MSc, FRACS 
  • 2009: Professor Anil Keith D’Cruz, MBBS
  • 2008: Professor Dan Fliss, MD
  • 2007: Professor MUDr. Jan Betka, DrSc
  • 2006: Professor Patrick Gullane, CM, MB, FRCSC, FACS
  • 2005: Professor Christopher O’Brien, AM, MS, MD, FRACS
  • 2004: David J. Howard, FRCS
  • 2003: Professor Dr. med. Wolfgang Steiner
  • 2002: Professor Kwang Hyun Kim, MD
  • 2001: Professor Sean L. Sellars 
  • 2000: Professor Patrick J. Bradley, D.Ch.
  • 1999: Professor Dr. med. Ugo Fisch
  • 1998: Juan Felipe Sanchez Marle, MD
  • 1997: Shin-etsu Kamata, MD
  • 1996: Professor Jean-Louis Lefebvre, MD
  • 1995: Professor Dr. Gordon B. Snow
  • 1994: Professor William I. Wei, MS, FRCSE, DLO
  • 1993: Professor Arnold G. D. Maran
  • 1992: John J. Conley, MD