Search form

Nikhil J. Bhatt, MD International Awards

The AAO-HNS Foundation supports otolaryngologists around the world who demonstrate a unique commitment to the specialty as part of our continued effort to foster a global otolaryngology community. 

The AAO-HNSF Nikhil J. Bhatt, MD International Public Service and Humanitarian Awards recognize the achievements of non-U.S. otolaryngologist—head and neck surgeons. The Awards are in fulfillment of the AAO-HNSF’s aim to foster a global otolaryngology community, and made possible through the generosity of Nikhil J. Bhatt, MD, a longtime advocate of AAO-HNSF international affairs.

Nominations for the 2019 Nikhil J. Bhatt, MD International Award open now! Click here to apply.

2018 International Humanitarian Award Recipient: Professor Mohan Kameswaran (India)

Professor Mohan Kameswaran is the Managing Director and Senior Consultant at the Madras ENT Research Foundation (P) Ltd. in Chennai, India. He is also an Honorary Professor at the SRM Medical College Hospital and Research Centre and an Honorary Senior Lecturer at Edge Hill University in Lancashire, UK. Prof. Kameswaran is committed to providing healthcare to the underprivileged in his country, particularly children. He is a pioneering cochlear implant surgeon in India and has been proactive in influencing lawmakers to start government-sponsored cochlear implant programs. He has personally conducted more than 200 free camps in remote corners of the country and has mentored more than 40 cochlear implant centers in India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, and West Africa. He has also pioneered pediatric auditory brain stem implants in India. Prof. Kameswaran was awarded the prestigious Padma Shri Award by the Government of India in 2006 for his exceptional service in the field of medicine. He earned his medical degree, Diploma of Otorhinolaryngology, and master's degree from the University of Madras in Chennai, India.

Previous Recipients:

2017 – Johanna Sembergman, MD | Venezuela
2016 – Nega Kiros Hagos, MD | Ethiopia

2018 International Public Service Award Winner

The International Public Service Award honors a non-U.S. otolaryngologist-head and neck surgeon whose achievements have advanced the specialty.

In 2018, the International Public Service Award recognized the efforts of Tania M. Sih, MD, PhD, of Brazil.

Tania M. Sih, MD is from São Paulo, Brazil and is a professor at Medical School University of São Paulo. She also serves as the General Secretary of the Interamerican Association of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology (IAPO) and President of the Nominating Committee for the International Federation of Oto-rhino-laryngological Societies (IFOS). Prof. Sih is dedicated to the specialty and to improving the lives of the people across South America and Africa. She is a founding member of the IAPO and a chartering member of PENTAFRICA, the Pediatric Ear, Nose, and Throat Association of Africa, where she helped model how to establish a major otolaryngology-focused organization in an environment with limited resources. Internationally recognized for her contributions to otolaryngology, Prof. Sih has published 35 books in 10 different languages, participated in medical meetings in 50 countries around the world, and served in leadership roles across many organizations and associations. Prof. Sih earned both her medical degree and PhD from the Medical School University of São Paulo. She completed training in pediatric otolaryngology in Poland; Pittsburgh, PA; and Kyoto, Japan. Additionally, Prof. Sih completed post-doctorate research at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in Atlanta, Georgia.

Previous Recipients:

2017 – Sheng-Po Hao, MD | Taiwan
2016 – Lokman Saim, MD | Malaysia