Search form

Presidential Citations

Presidential Citations recognize individuals personally selected by the President who have left a personal imprint on the life and/or career of the president, and/or have made a lasting impression through their outstanding contributions and dedication to the Academy, Foundation, or greater house of medicine. Citation awardees are recognized during the Annual Meeting Opening Ceremony.

The 2018 recipients are: 
Peter J. Koltai, MD

Peter J. Koltai, MD is Professor of Otolaryngology and Pediatrics at the Department of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery and a member of the Stanford University School of Medicine faculty since 2004. Dr. Koltai is a prolific author of several books (and chapters) and over a hundred published papers, many of which are self-illustrated. These subjects include establishing new techniques for managing pediatric facial fractures, a novel method of tracheostomy, refinements in laryngotracheal reconstruction, and approaches to choanal atresia. Dr. Koltai recently became a Senior Fellow in Stanford’s Center for Innovation in Global Health and has been working with colleagues at the University of Zimbabwe, establishing a Pediatric Otolaryngology Service at the Harare Children’s Hospital. As the American Broncho-Esophagological Association (ABEA) President, Dr. Koltai established a multi-institutional task force focusing on preventing button battery ingestion in young children. Dr. Koltai held multiple leadership positions with several noted organizations including past President of the ABEA, along with the American Society of Pediatric Otolaryngology. Dr. Koltai remains on the cutting edge of developing new solutions to present day surgical techniques

Steven M. Parnes, MD

Steven M. Parnes, MD is a full time professor of Otolaryngology/Surgery at Albany Medical College. He is the former chairman of that program in which capacity he served for thirty years. He received his medical degree from the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania and completed his Otolaryngology/Head and Neck residency at the University of Pittsburgh Eye and Ear Program. For the past 20 years he has been a member of the Albany Medical Center Board of Directors; he has also served on multiple other boards including the American Academy of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Society. Dr. Parnes is a member of the Triological Society, American College of Surgeons, American Laryngological Association, American Otological Society, ADO, SUO, AHNS, ANS, ARS, AEBA, NYSSO, AAFPS, NEOS, NYSSO, ASGO, ACMS, and Faculty Senate, serving as an officer of a number of the foregoing. He is the recipient of the Presidential Citation award from the Board of Governors of AAO/HNS, and AEBA, the Distinguished Honor Award from the Academy, and the Silver Scalpel award from Albany Medical College. He has given over 175 invited presentations and has several hundred publications which include peer reviewed papers, chapters and abstracts. He has been in practice for over forty years and has been repeatedly listed in Castle Connolly’s “Top Doctors” for the Capital Region. Dr. Parnes has also participated in significant humanitarian efforts that include trips to Honduras, Nicaragua, Syria, the West Bank and North Korea. His interests include hiking, skiing and racquet ball. He has 3 children, Robin, Jodi and Kiyoshi and presently resides in the Albany area with his wife Robin and son Kiyoshi.

Michael Setzen, MD

Michael Setzen, MD serves as a Clinical Assistant Professor of Otolaryngology at Weill Cornell  Medical College and is currently in private practice in Great Neck, New York. He has been listed in Castle Connolly’s “America’s Top Doctors” along with “New York Metro Area Top Doctors” for the past 15 years. Dr. Setzen is a noted speaker having given more than 300 lectures in both the U.S. and around the world. He is also a prolific author having written 90 peer review papers in addition to more than 60 articles and book chapters. Dr. Setzen has served as Past President, American Rhinological Society and Past Chairman, Board of Governors of the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery. Dr. Setzen is the recipient of the Board of Governors Practitioner Excellence Award of the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck and the American Academy of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery Distinguished Service Award. He presently sits on the Editorial Boards of the International Forum of Allergy and Rhinology, The American Journal of Otolaryngology and Ear, Nose and Throat Journal, and has been a past Associate Editor of Otolaryngology–Head and Neck Surgery journal.