

February 27, 2014

The Honorable Ron Wyden Chairman Senate Committee on Finance U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Dave Camp Chairman House Ways & Means Committee U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Fred Upton Chairman House Energy & Commerce Committee U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Michael Burgess, MD Vice Chairman, Health Subcommittee House Energy & Commerce Committee U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Orrin Hatch Ranking Member Senate Committee on Finance U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Sander Levin Ranking Member House Ways & Means Committee U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Henry Waxman Ranking Member House Energy & Commerce Committee U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 2013-2014 ACADEMY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

OFFICERS Richard W. Waguespack, MD President Birmingham, AL

Gayle S. Woodson, MD President-Elect Springfield, IL

J. Gavin Setzen, MD Secretary/Treasurer-Elect Albany, NY David R. Nielsen, MD Executive Vice President and CEO

> IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT James L. Netterville, MD Nashville, TN

Alexandria, VA

AT-LARGE DIRECTORS Paul T. Fass, MD Miami, FL Bradley F. Marple, MD Dallas, TX Karen T. Pitman, MD Gilbert, AZ Jerry M. Schreibstein, MD Springfield, MA Michael D. Seidman, MD West Bloomfield, MI Michael G. Stewart, MD MPH New York, NY Duane J. Taylor, MD Bethesda, MD Kathleen L. Yaremchuk, MD Detroit, MI

> BOARD OF GOVERNORS Peter J. Abramson, MD Chair Atlanta, GA Wendy B. Stern, MD Chair-Elect North Dartmouth, MA Denis C. Lafreniere, MD Past Chair

Farmington, CT

SPECIALTY SOCIETY ADVISORY COUNCIL Richard M. Rosenfeld, MD, MPH Chair Brooklyn, NY Kathleen L. Yaremchuk, MD Chair-Elect Detroit, MI

> COORDINATORS James C. Denneny, III, MD Socioeconomic Affairs Columbia, MO Jane T. Dillon, MD Practice Affairs Hinsdale, IL

**EX-OFFICIO** Lauren S. Zaretsky, MD Chair, Ethics Committee Port Jefferson, NY

Susan D. McCammon, MD Chair Elect, Ethics Committee Galveston, TX

Dear Chairman Wyden, Chairman Camp, Chairman Upton, Ranking Member Hatch, Ranking Member Levin, Ranking Member Waxman, and Dr. Burgess:

On behalf of the approximately 12,000 members of the American Academy of Otolaryngology–Head and Neck Surgery (AAO-HNS), I am writing to express our support for H.R. 4015/S. 2000, the "SGR Repeal and Medicare Provider Payment Modernization Act of 2014."

We commend your leadership and commitment over the last year regarding the initial development and refinement of policy to permanently repeal the sustainable growth rate (SGR) payment formula. H.R. 4015/S. 2000 represents a hard-fought policy agreement that will help physicians build a more sustainable, fair, and efficient Medicare physician payment system that results in high quality, affordable healthcare. For years, physicians have struggled in a system that fails to differentiate by provider or specialty, continues to reward volume, and lacks the tools necessary for recognizing quality outcomes and/or efficiency in regards to the delivery of care. Your legislation provides a pathway for correcting the aforementioned flaws in the Medicare program, and will—finally—provide stability for physicians, their practices, and their patients.



With only a limited number of legislative days remaining before the existing SGR "patch" expires, the AAO-HNS stands ready to work with you, your staff, and others in the physician community to advance this critical legislation. Only then can we focus our collective efforts on forging a new, patient-centric, quality-based healthcare system. If you or your staffs have any questions, please contact Megan Marcinko, Senior Manager for Congressional and Political Affairs, at 703-535-3796 or <u>mmarcinko@entnet.org</u>.

Sincerely,

David P. Juliu MD

David R. Nielsen, MD Executive Vice President and CEO

Cc: U.S. House of Representatives