WIO Exemplary Senior Trainee Award

About the WIO Exemplary Senior Trainee Award

The WIO Exemplary Senior Trainee Award recognizes an outstanding female senior resident or fellow in an otolaryngology-head and neck surgery training program who demonstrates excellence in leadership, research, education, and mentoring.

2021 WIO Exemplary Senior Trainee Award Recipient

This year’s awardee is Anisha R. Noble, MD, MS. Dr. Noble is a chief resident in otolaryngology-head and neck surgery at the University of Washington Medical Center in Seattle, Washington.

Throughout her career, Dr. Noble has embodied the traits of leadership, research, education, and mentoring that this award recognizes. Her nomination submission notes, “Dr. Noble has proven herself a thoughtful, humble yet effective leader who smartly manages teams and cases while treating every team member and patient with respect and empathy.” She has consistently displayed key leadership skills: taking ownership of patient care, delegating effectively, being decisive, and collaborating with colleagues.

Dr. Noble is a steadfast researcher who has been actively involved in scientific inquiry for many years. She is the author of nine peer-reviewed publications – first author on two of them. She has also delivered a number of oral presentations and presented multiple scientific posters. She was awarded an AAO-HNSF CORE Resident Research Grant. As a resident she undertook additional dedicated research training through a year-long National Institutes of Health award.

Dr. Noble is also dedicated to education and mentorship. She supports junior residents and medical students and makes time to share her knowledge with her residency team. One of her trainees noted that Dr. Noble, “…Established an environment that continuously advanced my knowledge, [and] allowed me to practice and improve my procedural and surgical skills.”



  • 2020: Leila Jean Mady, MD, PhD, MPH
  • 2019: Hayley L. Born, MD
  • 2018: Sarah N. Bowe, MD
  • 2017: Juliana Bonilla-Velez, MD
  • 2016: Kara Davis, MD
AAO-HNS COVID-19 InformationLearn More