BOG Practitioner of Excellence Award

About the BOG Practitioner Excellence Award

The Board of Governors (BOG) Practitioner Excellence Award recognizes the prototypical clinical otolaryngologist one wishes to emulate. BOG Representatives nominate individuals who, within the past 10 years, have practiced medicine in an exemplary manner and are sought out by other physicians because of their personal and effective care. The nominee should have, in addition to his or her clinical skills, one or more of the following attributes:

  • Civic leadership
  • Charitable activity
  • Leadership involvement with state, local or national medical organizations
  • Community education
  • Local civic and/or community activities
  • Academy member in good standing

The 2023 nomination process will be open January 4 – March 15. Submit your nomination today!

BOG Practitioner of Excellence Award

The 2022 BOG Practitioner of Excellence awardee is G. Lee Bryant, Jr., MD, who has served his medical community and ENT practice as chair of the Board of Trustees of Summit Medical Center in Nashville, Tennessee, and chair of the Department of Surgery of Summit Medical Center. He is an active staff member and member of the Medical Executive Committee at Summit Surgery Center and was president of Allergy & ENT Associates of Middle Tennessee from 2006 to 2021.

In July 2021 Dr. Bryant was diagnosed with subungual malignant melanoma of his right thumb. A right-handed physician, he had surgery for partial amputation of his dominant thumb and sentinel node dissection of right axilla, and he has now completed a year-long treatment of chemoimmunotherapy. Despite these challenges, Dr. Bryant returned to work in September 2021 by teaching himself how to operate again despite losing half his thumb. He has chronicled his medical journey on a blog,, that has a worldwide following.

In addition, Dr. Bryant is a clinical instructor at the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, where he graduated from medical school and completed his surgical internship and training in otolaryngology-head and neck surgery. He is also a clinical instructor for the Trevecca Nazarene University Physician Assistant Program in Nashville.

Dr. Bryant has persevered in the face of adversity and is an inspiration to all by refusing to give up and striving to overcome his physical obstacles while continuing to demand and deliver excellence in patient care.

Previous Recipients:


2021: Richard V. Smith, MD

2020: Kathleen C Y Sie, MD

2019: Mark S. Persky, MD

2018: Mark E. Zafereo, Jr., MD

2017: Wendy B. Stern, MD

2016: Eiji Yanagisawa, MD

2015: Robert J. Stachler, MD

2014: Joseph A. Brennan, MD

2013: Michael Setzen, MD

2012: No award given

2011: Marcy Bothwell, MD

2010: Sanjay K. Gupta, MD

2009: James L. Netterville, MD

2008: No award given

2007: No award given

2006: No award given

2005: Rick G. Love, MD

2004: Michael D. Seidman, MD

2003: Helen F. Krause, MD

2002: David W. Kennedy, MD

2001: M. Coye Shea, Jr., MD

2000: Neil O. Ward, MD

1999: Howard P. House, MD

1998: Jack L. Pulec, MD

1997: Fred D. Owens, MD

1996: John M. Conoyer, MD

AAO-HNS COVID-19 InformationLearn More