BOG Model Society Award

About the BOG Model Society Award

The Board of Governors (BOG) Model Society Award recognizes outstanding local/state/regional societies that exhibit effective leadership, institute Academy and Foundation programs, and further Academy goals through active participation in the BOG.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Must have all three (3) BOG representatives appointed (Governor and two (2) Alternate Governors)
  • Must have attended at least two (2) of three (3) previous BOG meetings
  • Must have demonstrated local public awareness activity

2021 BOG Model Society Award

The Harry Barnes Society is the recipient of the 2021 BOG Model Society Award. Named after William Harry Barnes, MD, the first African American board-certified otolaryngologist in the United States, the Harry Barnes Society is dedicated to the recruitment, development, and promotion of African Americans in the field of otolaryngology-head and neck surgery.

Over the past year, the Harry Barnes Society has been at the forefront of promoting otolaryngology among underrepresented minority (URM) students, residents, and practicing otolaryngologists. Despite the restrictions in place due to the COVID-19 pandemic, in the fall of 2020 the society brought together over 100 URM medical students for a virtual event that featured lectures and small group discussions with breakout Q&A sessions to help students prepare for applying to, interviewing for, and completing an otolaryngology residency program. Despite the last-minute change from an in-person to a virtual presentation, it was the most well-attended annual student event that the society has offered.

The society nimbly approached the challenges of meeting during a pandemic and pivoted from offering an in-person business meeting and academic symposium to hosting a monthly virtual grand rounds series, which provided opportunities for URM otolaryngologists who are both working in academic or private practice settings.

Previous Recipients:

2020: Metro Atlanta Educational Society for Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
2019: Virginia Society of Otolaryngology
2018: Northwest Academy of Otolaryngology
2017: Georgia Society of Otolaryngology/Head & Neck Surgery (GSO/HNS)
2016: Connecticut Ear, Nose, & Throat Society
2016: Honorable Mention: Virginia Society of Otolaryngology – Head & Neck Surgery (VSO-HNS)
2015: Pennsylvania Academy of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Society (PAO-HNS)
2015: Honorable Mention: Connecticut Ear, Nose, & Throat Society
2014: Virginia Society of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery (VSO-HNS)
2013: New York State Society of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery (NYSSO)
2012: Connecticut Ear, Nose, & Throat Society
2011: Pennsylvania Academy of Otolaryngology-HNS
2011: Honorable Mention: Virginia Society of Otolaryngology-HNS
2010: No award given
2009: Massachusetts Society of Otolaryngology-HNS
2009 Honorable Mention: Pennsylvania Academy of Otolaryngology-HNS
2008: New York State Society of Otolaryngology-HNS
2007: Massachusetts Society of Otolaryngology-HNS
2006: Kentucky Society of Otolaryngology-HNS and Alabama Society of Otolaryngology-HNS
2005: Georgia Society of Otolaryngology-HNS
2004: Massachusetts Society of Otolaryngology-HNS
2003: Michigan Otolaryngological Society
2002: Oklahoma Academy of Otolaryngology-HNS
2001: Kansas Society of Otolaryngology-HNS
2000: Rhode Island Society of Otolaryngology-HNS
2000: Massachusetts Society of Otolaryngology-HNS
1999: Georgia Society of Otolaryngology-HNS
1998: Washington Metro Otolaryngology-HNS
1997: Michigan Otolaryngological Society and Florida Society of Otolaryngology-HNS

AAO-HNS COVID-19 InformationLearn More