YPS Model Mentor Award

Having good a mentor is important to every phase of a physician’s career, but perhaps never more critical than in the earliest years out of training. Recognizing the key role that expert mentorship plays in a young physician’s success, the YPS has created the Model Mentor Award.

Any YPS member may nominate one of their mentors for this award by submitting a narrative vignette that illustrates an effective and nurturing mentorship by this physician. Application dates for 2021 will be announced later this year.


  • The nominees must be AAO-HNS members in good standing
  • The nomination packet requires full contact information for both the nominee and the nominating YPS member, as well as a nominating paragraph of up to 325 words
  • The YPS Governing Council will select the Model Mentor Award winners to be recognized during the YPS General Assembly at the AAO-HNSF Annual Meeting & OTO Experience and will consider the winning vignettes for submission to Otolaryngology–Head and Neck Surgery

Please email your nomination to [email protected].

Recipients of the YPS Model Mentor Award include:

  • Lawrence M. Simon, MD (2020)
  • Samantha Anne, MD
  • Stacey L. Ishman, MD, MPH
  • Giancarlo F. Zuliani, MD
  • James D. Sidman, MD
  • J. Regan Thomas, MD
  • Bill Lydiatt, MD
  • Ellis M. Arjmand, MD, PhD

We thank you for your contribution to the future of the specialty.

AAO-HNS COVID-19 InformationLearn More