All Resources

Diversity Endowment URM Away Rotation Grant

Diversity Endowment URM Away Rotation Grant

Diversity Plays a Crucial Role in Otolaryngology

The URM Away Rotation Grant program was created by the AAO-HNS Diversity and Inclusion Committee to introduce medical students from underrepresented areas to the field of otolaryngology.

Away rotations offer medical students a unique opportunity to gain exposure, expand their skills, build connections, and develop qualities that are crucial for their future medical careers. These experiences enhance their clinical competence, cultural sensitivity, and adaptability, ultimately shaping them into more well-prepared and compassionate healthcare providers. The Academy’s URM Away Rotation Grant program typically selects two grant recipients annually to receive $1,000 each to use toward expenses during their away rotation.

In 2023, a record number of grant submissions were received by the Academy.  With the generous support from Acclarent, Aerin Medical, and Medtronic, all 16 applicants will receive a grant to support their away rotations in 2023. “Securing grants for underrepresented medical students to participate in away rotations is an invaluable investment in their medical career journey, and that is why it was so important to find the additional funding for all these qualified and motivated candidates”, shared Troy D. Woodard, MD, incoming AAO-HNS/F President-elect and Immediate Past Chair of the AAO-HNS Board of Governors.

Congratulations to the 2023 award recipients!

Raúl Y. Ramos-SánchezUniversity of Puerto Rico School of Medicine
Ashley BrownArizona College of Osteopathic Medicine
Kassandra Karla CoronaUniversity of Texas Medical Branch
Amisheila KinuaUniversity of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
Aneesha PennEastern Virginia Medical School
Tonja HollisHoward University College of Medicine
Ana Rosas HerreraBaylor College of Medicine
Julio Hidalgo LopezEmory University School of Medicine
Keisha Arielle BestWayne State University
Tonya AaronAlbert Einstein College of Medicine
Abdurrahman Al-AwadyUniversity of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Jalen Anthony BensonHarvard Medical School
Brandon Jose VilarelloColumbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons
Trinithas BoyiJacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at the University at Buffalo
Abdiasis AbdilahiUniversity of Minnesota Medical School- Twin Cities
Frances Rodriguez LaraBoston University Chobanian and Avedisian School of Medicine


The application process will reopen in the spring 2024.

AAO-HNS COVID-19 InformationLearn More