Nikhil J. Bhatt, MD International Public Service Award

The AAO-HNS Foundation supports otolaryngologists around the world who demonstrate a unique commitment to the specialty as part of our continued effort to foster a global otolaryngology community.

The AAO-HNSF Nikhil J. Bhatt, MD International Public Service Award honors a non-U.S. otolaryngologist—head and neck surgeons whose achievements have advanced the specialty. The Award is in fulfillment of the AAO-HNSF’s aim to foster a global otolaryngology community, and made possible through the generosity of Nikhil J. Bhatt, MD, a longtime advocate of AAO-HNSF international affairs.

In 2020, the International Public Service Award recognized the efforts of M. Shahed Quraishi, MD.

This year’s awardee is M. Shahed Quraishi, MD. In 2005, Professor Quraishi founded the ENT Masterclass, a teaching platform for ENT surgeons and allied professionals, which provides ENT training and educational resources through his free multimedia training platform. ENT Masterclass reach spans 15 countries across four continents and is delivered by a volunteer faculty network of over 250 eminent professors/surgeons of ENT from all over the world.

Since 2008, ENT Masterclass has published a yearbook, a 150-page review journal; four annual courses webcast live all over the world; and the “Cyber Textbook of Surgery,” a selection of 450 ENT surgical/training videos from open-source access. His platform also provides an international traveling scholarship and an annual gold and silver medal for best research papers presented by trainees in ENT.

Professor Quraishi’s efforts also include the training and teaching of residents in the United Kingdom. He served as the program director for higher surgical training in South Yorkshire and is a member of the Court of Examiners at the Royal College of Surgeons in England.

In 2017, Queen Elizabeth II presented Dr. Quraishi with the “Order of the British Empire” for his service to medical education and the National Health Service. His excellence in teaching was recognized by the Middle East Academy of Otolaryngology–Head and Neck Surgery with the Heinz Stammberger Award for Excellence in Teaching in 2019.

Professor Quraishi is currently an ENT surgeon in the United Kingdom where he has practiced as a consultant since 2004.

Previous Recipients:

2019 –Johan J. Fagan, MD  | South Africa

2018 – Tania M. Sih, MD | Brazil

2017 – Sheng-Po Hao, MD | Taiwan

2016 – Lokman Saim, MD | Malaysia

AAO-HNS COVID-19 InformationLearn More