Cotton-Fitton Endowed Lecture in Pediatric Otolaryngology

About the Cotton-Fitton Endowed Lecture in Pediatric Otolaryngology

Funded by Robin T. Cotton, MD and Cynthia M. Fitton, this award was established to educate otolaryngologists about considerations and care of children with diseases or disorders of the ears, nose, throat, head, and neck. The inaugural lecture was given in 2003. This award is presented in odd-numbered years only.

2019 Honorary Lecturer: Rahul K. Shah, MD, MBA

Dr. Shah obtained a combined B.A./M.D. from Boston University School of Medicine (2000) thereafter completing an Otolaryngology residency (Tufts University) and a Pediatric Otolaryngology fellowship (Children’s Hospital Boston, Harvard University).  He joined the faculty of Children’s National Medical Center (2006), rising to the rank of Professor (2017) at George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences.  Dr. Shah’s research interests include resource utilization and outcomes, patient safety, and medical errors; he has received numerous awards for his research.  He is recognized as a leader in patient safety and quality improvement and has chaired and serves on myriad national committees related to patient safety and quality improvement.  He was the Executive Director of an international not-for-profit quality improvement initiative, the Global Tracheostomy Collaborative. He was the inaugural Associate Surgeon-in-Chief at Children’s National Medical Center and the Medical Director of Peri-operative Services from 2011-2014.  He served as President of the Medical Staff at Children’s National Medical Center from 2012-2014.  In 2014, he was appointed the inaugural Vice-President, Chief Quality and Safety Officer for Children’s National Health System and in 2018 appointed the inaugural Vice-President, Medical Affairs as an additional executive responsibility. He has authored over 130 peer reviewed articles and has given over 250 national and international presentations. Under his leadership, Children’s National has received numerous safety and quality distinctions and is a recognized leader in pediatric safety and quality.

Previous Honorary Lecturers:

  • 2017: Jennifer Shin, MD, SM
  • 2015: Marci M. Lesperance, MD
  • 2013: Joseph P. Kerschner, MD
  • 2011: Lauren D. Holinger, MD
  • 2009: Jonathan Klein, MD, MPH
  • 2007: Marshall E. Smith, MD
  • 2005: Patrick Froehlich, MD
  • 2003: Richard J. H. Smith, MD
AAO-HNS COVID-19 InformationLearn More