Jerome C. Goldstein, MD Public Service Award

About the Jerome C. Goldstein, MD Public Service Award

The Jerome C. Goldstein, MD Public Service Award recognizes members for commitment and achievement in service, either to the public or to other organizations within the United States, when such service promises to improve patient welfare.

Funded anonymously by an Academy member, any member of the Academy is eligible to receive, and nominate other members, for this award. The awardee is honored during the Annual Meeting & OTO Experience with a commemorative certificate and $1,000 honorarium.

The 2023 nomination process will be open January 4 – March 15. Submit your nomination today!

2022 Jerome C. Goldstein, MD Public Service Award Recipient

Ehab Y. Hanna, MD, is recognized with the Jerome C. Goldstein, MD Public Service Award. He is currently a professor in the Department of Head and Neck Surgery, Division of Surgery, at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center (MDACC) in Houston. Dr. Hanna has devoted his life to improving the welfare of patients with head and neck cancer, sinonasal cancer, and skull base tumors. He strives to improve the quality and value of patient care through his extensive clinical efforts and research and has dedicated himself to educating physicians and surgeons in the delivery of excellent care.

Dr. Hanna has led education initiatives on a large scale within the MDACC as well as nationally within the specialty of head and neck surgery, while maintaining a devotion to teaching and training individual medical students, residents, and fellows. Dr. Hanna has trained over 100 fellows and residents, most of whom have gone on to careers in academic head and neck surgery. On a local level, he has led the MDACC Head and Neck Center as the executive medical director of Ambulatory Care, a multidisciplinary clinic with over 100 employees and more than 10,000 annual unique patient visits.

Dr. Hanna is recognized as one of the national and international leaders in otolaryngology-head and neck surgery and is an especially effective teacher in the operating room. In addition to his many clinical, research, and administrative duties and service in national organizations within the specialty, he meets regularly with individual medical students, residents, fellows, and junior faculty to provide invaluable one-on-one mentoring and career guidance.

Previous Recipients:

  • 2021: Sally Shott, MD
  • 2020: Joseph E. Kerschner, MD
  • 2019: No Award Presented
  • 2018: Jerome C. Goldstein
  • 2017: Debara L. Tucci, MD, MS, MBA
  • 2016: C. Ron Cannon, MD
  • 2015: Charles E. Moore, MD
  • 2014: Keith F. DeSonier, MD
  • 2013: Steven F. Isenberg, MD
  • 2012: David L. Witsell, MD, MHS
  • 2011: Kathleen L. Yaremchuk, MD
  • 2010: Nancy L. Snyderman, MD
  • 2009: George Paul Doxey, MD
  • 2008: Anna M. Pou, MD
  • 2007: William B. Lewis, MD
  • 2006: Louisiana State University-Department of Otolaryngology and Tulane University Department of Otolaryngology
  • 2005: Stephen Epstein, MD
  • 2004: Karl L. Horn, MD
  • 2003: Hosakere K. Chandra Sekhar, MD
  • 2002: William M. Satterwhite, Jr., MD
  • 2001: Terry A. Day, MD
  • 2000: John Niparko, MD
  • 1999: Byron Bailey, MD
  • 1998: Howard W. Smith, MD
  • 1997: Roland Eavey, MD and Craig Senders, MD
  • 1996: Donald P. Vrabeck, MD
  • 1995: G. Richard Holt, MD
  • 1994: Jerome C. Goldstein, MD
AAO-HNS COVID-19 InformationLearn More