The Holt Leadership Award for Residents and Fellows-in-Training

About the Holt Leadership Award for Residents and Fellows-in-Training

The Holt Leadership Award is awarded annually to the Resident or Fellow-in-Training who best exemplifies the attributes of a young leader: honesty, integrity, fairness, advocacy, and enthusiasm. The Award recognizes exemplary efforts onbehalf of the Section for Residents and Fellows-in-Training of the AAO-HNS/F for the promotion of the missions and goals of the association.

Nominees are brought forward annually from the SRF. Two candidates are submitted to the AAO-HNS/F Executive Committee for their final selection. The award, a check for $500 and a plaque, is presented at the annual SRF General Assembly and the awardee is announced during the Annual Meeting Opening Ceremony.

2021 Holt Leadership Award Recipient

This year’s awardee is Carla V. Valenzuela, MD, MSCI, who is a superb role model for junior residents and medical students. She is the chief resident in otolaryngology-head and neck surgery at Washington University School of Medicine (WUSM) in St. Louis, Missouri.

Dr. Valenzuela has been an active member of the Section for Residents and Fellows-in-Training (SRF) where she has served various leadership positions, including Chair, SRF Representative to the Board of Governors (BOG) Legislative Affairs Committee, and SRF Representative to the BOG Governance and Society Engagement Committee.

She also is involved in the Academy at large and is a member of the AAO-HNSF Leadership Development and Mentorship Committee. Dr. Valenzuela served on the Guideline Development Group for the Clinical Practice Guideline: Ménière’s Disease. She was a four-time recipient of the AAO-HNSF Resident Leadership Grant.

Dr. Valenzuela is committed to mentoring junior resident physicians and medical students. She served as a lecturer for PGY-2 residents and was a resident instructor for medical students. She also works to create opportunities for networking among residents and served as the WUSM Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery residency social chair.

As well, Dr. Valenzuela is a dedicated researcher with nearly 20 peer-reviewed publications, five poster presentations, and three oral presentations at national conferences. As an attestation to her scholarly talents, she was awarded an AAO-HNSF CORE Resident Research Grant.

Previous Awardees:

  • 2020: Aurora G. Vincent, MD
  • 2019: Claire M. Lawlor, MD
  • 2018: Peter M. Vila, MD
  • 2017: David S. Cohen, MD
  • 2016: John M. Carter, MD
  • 2015: Nikhila P. Raol, MD, MPH
  • 2014: Jayme R. Dowdall, MD
  • 2013: Mark E. Zafereo, Jr., MD
  • 2012: Jeffrey C. Liu, MD
  • 2011: Vasu Divi, MD
  • 2010: Lily Love, MD
  • 2009: Spencer C. Payne, MD
  • 2008: Jacob D. Steiger, MD
  • 2007: Monica Tadros, MD
  • 2006: Angela M. Powell, MD and Mark E. Boston, MD
  • 2005: Adam T. Ross, MD
  • 2004: Paul L. Leong, MD
  • 2003: Liana Puscas, MD and Robert Puchalski, MD
  • 2002: F. Christopher Holsinger, MD

AAO-HNS COVID-19 InformationLearn More