Search form

Jerome C. Goldstein, MD Public Service Award

The Jerome C. Goldstein, MD Public Service Award recognizes members for commitment and achievement in service, either to the public or to other organizations within the United States, when such service promises to improve patient welfare.


Funded anonymously by an Academy member, any member of the Academy is eligible to receive, and nominate other members, for this award.  The awardee is honored during the Annual Meeting & OTO Experience with a commemorative certificate and $1,000 honorarium.

2018 Jerome C. Goldstein, MD Public Service Award Recipient: Norman Hogikyan, MD. 

The 2018 awardee is Norman D. Hogikyan, MD. Dr. Hogikyan serves as Professor and Associate Chairman of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, and Professor of Music at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan. He is a laryngologist and directs the University's Vocal Health Center. Dr. Hogikyan is known as a thoughtful and compassionate physician, dedicated to his patients, students, and the greater community.

Early in his career, through clinical research, he sought to develop a methodology to address a patient's perception and understanding of their voice disorder and how to measure it. Dr. Hogikyan conducted clinical research with and for patients, developing and validating the Voice-Related Quality of Life (V-RQOL) Measure. This patient-centered outcomes instrument is now used widely and translated into many languages.

Committed to community service, in 1996 he founded and has directed an annual head and neck cancer screening clinic. His additional community service activities include: teaching vocal anatomy and the dangers of tobacco use, staffing a free general otolaryngology clinic, ministering urgent care for visiting performing artists, and directing an annual World Voice Day program.

Dr. Hogikyan received the University of Michigan Dean's Award for Community Service in 2012, Resident Mentorship Awards in 2015 and 2017, Otolaryngology Esteemed Clinical Faculty Award in 2015, and Otolaryngology Teacher-of-the-Year award in 2004. In addition to his ongoing work at the University of Michigan, he is currently a 2018-2019 fellow at the University of Chicago MacLean Center for Clinical Medical Ethics. Dr. Hogikyan's focus on improving patient welfare gives form to the ideal for this award.


Previous Recipients: 
  • 2017: Debara L. Tucci, MD, MS, MBA
  • 2016: C. Ron Cannon, MD
  • 2015: Charles E. Moore, MD
  • 2014: Keith F. DeSonier, MD
  • 2013: Steven F. Isenberg, MD
  • 2012: David L. Witsell, MD, MHS
  • 2011: Kathleen L. Yaremchuk, MD
  • 2010: Nancy L. Snyderman, MD
  • 2009: George Paul Doxey, MD
  • 2008: Anna M. Pou, MD
  • 2007: William B. Lewis, MD
  • 2006: Louisiana State University-Department of Otolaryngology and Tulane University Department of Otolaryngology
  • 2005: Stephen Epstein, MD
  • 2004: Karl L. Horn, MD
  • 2003: Hosakere K. Chandra Sekhar, MD 
  • 2002: William M. Satterwhite, Jr., MD
  • 2001: Terry A. Day, MD
  • 2000: John Niparko, MD
  • 1999: Byron Bailey, MD
  • 1998: Howard W. Smith, MD
  • 1997: Roland Eavey, MD and Craig Senders, MD
  • 1996: Donald P. Vrabeck, MD
  • 1995: G. Richard Holt, MD
  • 1994: Jerome C. Goldstein, MD