WIO Helen F. Krause, MD Trailblazer Award

About the WIO Helen F. Krause, MD Trailblazer Award

This award recognizes an individual who has furthered the interests of women in the field of otolaryngology.

Submit your nomination by March 15.

2021 WIO Helen F. Krause, MD Trailblazer Award Recipient

This year’s awardee is Nancy M. Young, MD. She is the head of the Section of Otology and Neurotology, Division of Otolaryngology, at the Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago, Illinois, where she was the Lillian S. Wells Professor of Pediatric Otolaryngology at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine.

Throughout her career, Dr. Young has worked to advance the interests of women in the field of otolaryngology through scholarship, advocacy, leadership, and mentorship. She has been a member of the Women in Otolaryngology (WIO) Section since its inception and also is a member of Women in Neurotology.

Dr. Young took part on the steering committee for the Women’s Faculty Organization of Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine. She served as course director for the 13th Symposium on Cochlear Implants in Children in 2011, the first woman surgeon to do so. The symposium included a talk on women as leaders and a women’s professional development session.

For several years and together with Debara L. Tucci, MD, MS, MBA, Dr. Young presented courses at several AAO-HNSF Annual Meeting & OTO Experience on gender differences in professional advancement and gender and leadership in otolaryngology.  She presented on gender matters at the Northwestern University School of Medicine and to residents at the University of California, San Francisco.

Dr. Young often works behind the scenes to mentor and advocate for women residents, physicians, and faculty members. She supports their interests and recommends them for leadership positions.

Past Recipients:

  • 2020: Kathleen L. Yaremchuk, MD, MSA
  • 2019: Carol R. Bradford, MD
  • 2018: Stacey L. Ishman, MD, PhD
  • 2017: Amber Luong, MD, PhD
  • 2016: Karen M. Kost, MDCM
  • 2015: Sukgi S. Choi, MD
  • 2014: Family of Linda S. Brodsky, MD
  • 2013: Dana M. Thompson, MD
  • 2012: Sujana C. Chandrasekhar, MD
  • 2011: Ron B. Kuppersmith, MD, MBA, & Sonya Malekzadeh, MD
AAO-HNS COVID-19 InformationLearn More